A contact grill with a stand
The Fit Grill Medium is an electric contact grill: two plates, the food lies between them and is heated from both sides at once. No turning needed. On Russell Hobbs’ UK product page it appears as the George Foreman Fit Grill Medium in black, with SKU and model number 25810. Amazon lists it as 25810-56, with a release date there of 10 June 2020. The UK range comes in three sizes: Small (25800), Medium (25810) and Large (25820).
At Amazon it cost €65.64 on 20 October 2026; in our price box it appears at approx. €66. Our overall rating is 8.1; within our electric grill overview that puts it below the OptiGrill and the larger Entertaining, but above the Tefal GC241D. This placement is editorial and based on data sheets, not on our own use: we have not handled the device.
A word on the sources, because they shape the rest of the text. We did not reach a German manufacturer page. The instructions we could find carry the code GFF2021 and belong to the variant for Australia and New Zealand. That they match model 25810-56 is not proven. We therefore cite them as “GFF2021 instructions” and treat their details as pointers for this appliance, not as established properties. They name Spectrum Brands, Inc. as the brand owner.
Construction: what the manufacturer says about the hardware
According to the manufacturer page, the housing is made of plastic. What material the two plates are made of is not stated there; they are non-stick coated, and the manufacturer page speaks of an improved non-stick coating. The product photo shows both plates ribbed, the upper one with the brand name embossed. A clip-in drip tray catches excess fat; at Amazon it is called a fat collection tray.
The GFF2021 instructions show only two lights as controls: a red one for power, a green one for the thermostat. In addition there is a foot on the underside that you can fold out, and a cable hook, also underneath. They mention no temperature control, display or programmes, and the product photo shows none either. The plates are joined by a hinge that the instructions describe as articulated, so that thick or irregularly shaped food also fits between them.
Dimensions and weight are uncertain. Amazon gives 362 x 105 x 315 mm without saying which number is width, height or depth, and the inch values in the same catalogue entry are scaled wrongly. Amazon lists the weight as 6.59 pounds, which is approx. 2.99 kg. Both are catalogue values, not manufacturer figures. We derive no grilling area from the dimensions: they are overall dimensions, and none of our sources says how much of that is plate and how much is housing.
In detail: slope, fat tray and thermostat light
The name Fit Grill refers to the fat. The mechanism is simple. If you fold out the foot under the grill, the lower plate sits at an angle, and fat and meat juices run off into the drip tray instead of staying on the plate. That is how the GFF2021 instructions describe it. How much less fat stays in the food compared with a pan or a flat contact grill, the manufacturer does not quantify, and neither do we. All that is certain physically is that liquid runs downhill and that some of what would keep cooking in a pan ends up in the tray.
The thermostat light is the appliance’s only feedback about its temperature. According to the instructions, the correct cooking temperature is reached when it lights up. It switches on and off cyclically during operation, so the heating element regulates rather than heating continuously. A figure in degrees Celsius does not come with it. If you want a crust, you depend on the plate temperature, and we do not know it.
In principle, meat only browns at the surface above roughly 140 °C (Maillard reaction). With a contact grill, the heat passes through the plates directly into the meat, and the juice that escapes evaporates between the plates instead of on a grate. That is a deduction from the design, not a finding on this appliance. Whether the heating element keeps the plates hot enough for a crust to form is decided by the unstated power.
Two manufacturer claims matter for the relationship between time and result, and both rest on the manufacturer’s own measurement basis. The product page promises 82 per cent less energy than a conventional oven grill, with a footnote we do not know. And it promises that you get from switching on to the plate in under 6 minutes; according to the page, this was measured with a 113 g burger with 15 per cent fat on the smaller Small variant. For the Medium, that is therefore a transfer.
How long do burgers, steak and chicken take?
The GFF2021 instructions give guide values in minutes. Steak: 2 minutes for medium rare, 3 for medium, from 5 for well done. Chicken breast needs 8 to 10 minutes until the juice runs clear. Burgers and sausages are each at 6 to 10 minutes, bacon at 3 to 5. Frozen meat needs 3 to 6 minutes more.
The ranges are wide, and that makes sense: with a contact grill the time depends on the thickness of the piece, and the plates press on the food with different closeness depending on the hinge position. The chicken figure includes the doneness check, the juice should be clear. We advise using a probe thermometer for poultry and minced meat; that is a general kitchen rule and not a statement from the instructions.
Cleaning, care and safety
Here the wording of the GFF2021 instructions applies, and it is clearly stricter than some picture of “just rinse it off”.
The housing is cleaned with a damp cloth. You may wash the fat tray in warm washing-up water or put it in the upper basket of the dishwasher. Cable, plug and the grill itself must not be immersed in water.
For the plates, the instructions forbid harsh or abrasive cleaners, solvents, scouring sponges, steel wool and soap pads. What is allowed is wiping them with a damp cloth or sponge after they have cooled down completely. According to the instructions, stubborn stains come off with kitchen paper and a little cooking oil. The instructions describe wear at the contact points of the plates as cosmetic. Whether the plates are removable or dishwasher safe, they do not say; for the fat tray it is expressly allowed, for the plates nothing is stated.
On safety, in selection (the full list is in the instructions): the grill belongs on a stable, level, heat-resistant surface, away from cupboards and curtains. Accessible surfaces get very hot and stay so for a while after switching off. You must not cover it, move it during operation, place it on or near other heat sources or ever leave it running unattended. Food in plastic film or polybags must not go in. With a damaged cable or plug, or after a fall, it stays off; there are no user-serviceable parts according to the instructions.
What the manufacturer does not state
For an appliance so simply built, a surprising number of figures are missing, in every source we could find: power in watts, grilling area in centimetres, binding dimensions and weight, maximum temperature, heat-up time in minutes, number of portions, cable length and scope of delivery. We also do not know the warranty terms for Germany or the availability of spare parts.
That has consequences for our calculation. Without watts, electricity costs per meal cannot be worked out; without grilling area, we cannot say whether two or three burgers fit side by side. Retailers give differing power values, but none of them comes from the manufacturer, so we use none. That also applies to the “approx. 1,400 W” and the “2 to 3 portions” at the top of this page; we cannot substantiate either.
What else comes into question?
| Model | The difference | Price | Our rating | Choose this one if |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Foreman Fit Grill Medium (this one) | Slope via folding foot, only two lights, power and area not stated | approx. €66 | 8.1 | you want a small, simple appliance for the kitchen |
| Tefal contact grill GC241D | Wattage and grilling area are stated in the data sheet | approx. €57.99 | 8.0 | you want to compare power and area before buying |
| George Foreman Entertaining 6-Portion Grill | Larger variant from the same brand | approx. €95 | 8.3 | you regularly grill for more than two people |
| Tefal OptiGrill GC702D | Sensor automatic with doneness display | approx. €99 | 8.9 | you do not want to judge the doneness yourself |
Prices are guide values as of October 2026 and change. The rating is our editorial assessment from data sheets, not a measurement result.
When this grill, when another
If you grill only for yourself or as a couple and have little space, you will get by with the Fit Grill Medium. How much two people can actually put on at once, however, we do not know, because the area is missing. With three or more diners we would reach for the Entertaining, whose name already reveals the target size, or plan the cooking time twice.
Meat is a case of its own. If you often want steaks with a crust, you need temperature figures that this appliance does not supply; the Tefal GC241D at least states watts and area, and the OptiGrill additionally an automatic that shows the doneness. With the Foreman you decide by time and appearance, and the guide values in the instructions are the framework for that. More on the principle is in our guide grilling steak and, if the fat content matters to you, in healthier grilling.
Then the location. No balcony, no terrace, nothing outdoors: the instructions do not allow it. If you want to grill outside, you need a different appliance, and our grill finder sorts by space and fuel. On budget, the Foreman is at approx. €66, the two larger models at €95 and €99, so those two are only €4 apart. If you are going up to €99 anyway, you get the automatic with the OptiGrill.
Who is it suited for?
For singles, couples and students with a small kitchen who want a simple appliance without programmes and do not use it for grilling steaks with a crust. In its favour are upright storage, fat drainage via the folding foot and the low price.
It is unsuitable for commercial kitchens: the instructions allow use only in the household and similar environments, naming staff kitchens, hotels, guest houses and farmhouses. It is also not for households where children can reach the kitchen unsupervised, because according to the instructions it is not a toy, and it must not be operated via an external timer or remote control. If you need to know wattage and grilling area before buying, you will find them with the Tefal GC241D.



