Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL
Olvy · Contact grill

Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL

★★★★☆3.9 · Editorial score4 sandwiches at once, opens flat to 180°
✓ Editorially checkedRated by Seydhan Cakmak (Founder and editor in chief) · 4 July 2026

At approx. €60, the Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL is a choice for anyone who, besides classic sandwiches, also wants to cook meat or vegetables on the open surface. With room for four sandwiches at once according to the manufacturer, it is designed for families and shared flats according to the catalogue description, although wattage and plate size remain open. If you only occasionally make a single sandwich, compact single-person models offer a more space-saving alternative.

Large capacity for up to 4 sandwiches or paninis at onceOpens flat to 180° for open grillingAdjustable heat and timer, digital display according to the product photoNon-stick plates for easy cleaningFolds shut, according to the manufacturer it stores in a cupboard without taking much space
Guide price
1 shop
Amazon
View on Amazon
€59.99
To the shop →
Prices incl. VAT, excl. shipping. Affiliate links. Prices are in euros from Amazon.de and may differ in your country.
In brief7.8/10

According to the manufacturer, the Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL, at approx. €60, is designed for up to four sandwiches at once and opens by 180 degrees into an open cooking surface. Heat and timer are adjustable, and the product photo shows a digital display. The catalogue gives no wattage, temperature range or plate size.

Check the price at Amazon →

Four sandwiches at once, and a brand without a website

The Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL is an electric contact grill: two coated heating plates that close over the bread like a book or open flat by 180 degrees. Amazon lists it under model number ZJ-529 in the household goods product group. It costs approx. €60 (Amazon page on 20 October 2026: €59.99). In our electric grill category it sits among the contact grills, that is, appliances that cook bread, meat and vegetables between two hot surfaces rather than over embers or a gas flame.

What stood out first during research was the brand itself. We did not find a manufacturer website with a data sheet, nor an instruction manual as a PDF. Olvy appears online as a seller on marketplaces, not as a manufacturer with its own presence. Everything this text says about the appliance therefore comes from two sources: the five product descriptions and the master data in the Amazon catalogue (retrieved on 5 October 2026), and the product photo.

For an appliance that plugs into a socket and heats fat, that is little. We put it at the start because it colours every later assessment.

At least it is clearly described who Olvy built the grill for. The first product description addresses families and hosts whose guests should not have to wait in turn for their sandwich.

What the catalogue and product photo reveal

According to the catalogue, the heat is adjustable, and there is also a timer. Whether the temperature is set in steps or in degrees, and how long the timer runs, remains open. The heating plates are coated so that food does not stick, and Olvy promises that they wipe clean easily after use. Opened by 180 degrees, the appliance becomes an open cooking surface: Olvy names meat and grilled vegetables for this, and explicitly names indoor use as the place of use. Folded shut, the silver grill is meant to fit into a kitchen cupboard without taking much space. As a result, the manufacturer promises snacks that are crisp on the outside and melted on the inside, which is an advertising claim and not a property we were able to check.

The photo adds to the text in a few places. A bar handle with a silver rod sits over the lid. The upper plate has deep transverse ridges. Four slices of toast lie on the lower plate in two rows. At the front of the base sits a control panel with buttons on the left and right and a digital display, which shows 10:00 and 230 °C in the picture.

An advertising photo is not a data sheet. Whether 230 °C is the appliance’s maximum temperature or an arbitrary display value cannot be read from it, and we derive no specification from it. All that can be said with certainty: if the photo shows the production model, temperature and time are shown as numbers and not set with a dial and indicator light. The digital display in our data sheet above therefore rests on the photo alone; the catalogue text says nothing about digital controls.

The master data gives three dimensions, converted from inches: height approx. 38.5 cm, length approx. 37.5 cm, width approx. 15 cm. Whether they describe the closed appliance or the box is not noted. We do not calculate a plate size from them: catalogue dimensions include the base, bar handle and hinge, so the usable surface is always smaller and cannot be estimated from the outer shell.

In detail: pressing with the lid, cooking without it

A contact grill works in two modes, and the Olvy is meant for both.

When closed, the food lies between two heated plates. The heat comes from above and below at the same time, so a sandwich does not need turning, and the cooking time is shorter than in a pan. The ridges of the plate press into the bread and leave the typical stripes. Where the ridges touch, the surface browns more; in the gaps it stays paler. With meat, ridges have a second purpose: escaping fat collects in the grooves and, if the plate is slightly tilted, runs off to the front or back. Whether the Olvy’s plates are tilted and where the fat goes is open; the catalogue does not list a drip tray, and none is visible in the photo.

With “generously filled” sandwiches, as Olvy advertises them, the hinge matters. Many contact grills have a floating hinge that lifts the upper plate and lays it parallel on thick food. A fixed hinge, by contrast, closes at an angle, so thick fillings are pressed harder at the back than at the front. Which design the Olvy has is one of the gaps we collect below.

When opened, the appliance becomes a cooking surface made of two halves. Each half then heats from below only, so the food has to be turned as in a pan, and the cooking time lengthens accordingly. In return, more fits side by side, and thick pieces such as chicken breast or halved peppers are not squashed by the lid.

For meat, the Olvy lacks an aid that more expensive contact grills have: a sensor that measures thickness and regulates the heat accordingly. The timer only sets a time; it knows nothing about the state inside. With poultry and minced meat, we would not rely on it and would check with a probe thermometer. According to our core temperature chart, poultry must reach at least 72 °C, and the values for beef and pork are listed there too.

Is the Olvy enough for a family of four?

For a round of sandwiches, yes. Olvy states up to four at once, and the photo shows exactly four slices of toast side by side. Whether four portions of meat fit when opened cannot be said without a surface figure.

Two caveats belong here. The photo shows toast bread in a handy format. Ciabatta, baguette pieces or large slices of farmhouse bread need more space, and with such breads it would be three rather than four in our assessment. Second, a family is not only about the first round: if someone wants a second sandwich, the cycle starts again, and the catalogue does not describe how quickly the plates return to temperature after opening.

For meat, the situation is less favourable. Without a plate size, you cannot estimate whether four chicken breasts fit side by side or only two. For the Tefal appliances in the table below, the manufacturer gives the surface in square centimetres, and for a family that puts meat and vegetables on the contact grill in the evening, that is the more important figure than the sandwich count.

Our assessment: as a breakfast and snack appliance for four, the Olvy is designed for it according to the catalogue description. As a family’s main grill for the evening meal, we would prefer an appliance with a documented surface.

What the manufacturer does not state

The following points are missing in the Amazon catalogue, and because there is neither a manufacturer website nor instructions, they could not be looked up elsewhere either:

  • Power in watts
  • Temperature range, maximum temperature and number of levels or programmes
  • Timer duration and whether it sounds a signal
  • Size of the heating plates in centimetres
  • Weight and cable length
  • Material of housing and plates, type of coating
  • Removable plates, dishwasher suitability, drip tray
  • Overheating protection, non-slip feet, indicator lights
  • Floating or fixed hinge
  • Heating time
  • Cool-touch handle or heat protection on the handle
  • Scope of delivery, warranty terms, spare parts, country of production

The wattage weighs heaviest. It determines how quickly the plates get hot and how strongly they reheat after cold ingredients are placed on them, and it is the only figure with which you can match a contact grill against your kitchen’s circuit.

Retailer listings on other marketplaces do state wattage, temperature and plate size for an Olvy XXL appliance. We do not adopt these values: they are retailer texts, not manufacturer statements, and it is not certain whether they describe the same model ZJ-529.

Cleaning and safety when there are no instructions

For care, the catalogue has exactly one sentence, in essence: the coated heating plates prevent sticking and wipe clean easily after use. What you wipe with, whether the plates are removed for this, whether water may touch the appliance, and when it has cooled enough is not stated there.

That means we cannot give you a manufacturer’s care guide here. If a printed manual comes with the appliance, its wording takes precedence over everything in this section.

As a general rule for contact grills with fixed heating plates: unplug and let cool before touching the plates, and never immerse the appliance in water, because the heating elements sit in the housing. For non-stick coatings, it is generally true that metal spatulas and scouring sponges scratch the surface; wooden or silicone spatulas are the gentler choice. These are general rules, not statements from Olvy.

There is only one manufacturer statement on where to use it: Olvy describes the open cooking surface for indoor use. Anyone who otherwise likes to grill on the balcony should know this before buying the Olvy as a replacement for a balcony grill.

Three alternatives from our catalogue

Model The difference Price Our rating Choose this one if
Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL (this one) four sandwiches, digital display according to the photo, neither wattage nor plate size documented approx. €60 7.8 you want four sandwiches at once and can live with thin data
Aigostar Hett Pro 27 x 17 cm plates and drip tray according to the catalogue approx. €29 7.3 you mostly toast for one or two people
Tefal 3in1 GC3060 according to Tefal approx. 600 cm² closed, 1200 cm² opened approx. €115 7.9 you want to grill meat and vegetables for several people when opened
Tefal OptiGrill XL GC722D sensor measures the thickness of the food, 800 cm² according to Tefal approx. €129.99 9.0 you mainly grill steak and chicken indoors

The prices are guide values from our price box and fluctuate in the shops. The rating is our editorial assessment of the available data; we did not measure anything on any of the four appliances.

In price, the Olvy sits in the middle. The Aigostar Hett Pro costs approx. €29. Aigostar states plates of 27 x 17 cm, whereas the Olvy has no plate size, and Aigostar does not advertise the Hett Pro as an appliance for four sandwiches. The Tefal 3in1 GC3060 costs approx. €115 (on 21 October 2026 only from marketplace sellers on Amazon; Amazon itself did not offer it), and for the higher price you mainly get certainty: a surface figure for both modes and a manufacturer with customer service. In our comparison it is the most direct counterpart, because it follows the same idea, only documented.

We added the Tefal OptiGrill XL GC722D even though, at approx. €129.99, it is in a different price class. It is not a sandwich maker with a grill function but a meat grill with a sandwich programme. Anyone who is really thinking of steaks when searching for a large contact grill should have seen it.

Who the Olvy suits and when another appliance is better

The Olvy suits you if four people want a sandwich at the same time at the weekend and the appliance then goes back in the cupboard. According to the catalogue description, that is what it is built for, and the digital display on the photo makes a repeatable setting easier than a dial without a scale.

We would choose another appliance in these cases:

You mostly grill meat indoors. Then surface and doneness matter more than the sandwich count, and the OptiGrill XL from the table is the better choice, provided the budget allows. Without a sensor, the Olvy leaves you with the thermometer.

You want to put the plates in the dishwasher or catch fat in a tray. Both are undocumented for the Olvy. In that case, buy an appliance where the manufacturer explicitly promises both, instead of hoping.

You mostly cook for yourself or for two. Four sandwich places also mean a larger surface to preheat and more space in the cupboard. The Aigostar Hett Pro is the smaller and cheaper appliance for this household.

You want to grill outdoors. Olvy describes the appliance for indoor use, and without instructions there is no statement at all about outdoor operation. For the balcony, you need an electric grill that is rated for it.

The Olvy is wrong above all for buyers who want to know before buying what they are getting: wattage, plate size, coating, warranty. Anyone who needs this information to decide will find it for the Olvy in no source we could open, and is better served by the Tefal 3in1 GC3060 at approx. €115.

Data sheet

Technical data: Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL

CapacityUp to 4 sandwiches/paninis at once
Opening angle180°, for open grilling
TemperatureAdjustable, digital display according to the product photo
TimerAdjustable, duration not stated
CoatingNon-stick
StorageFolds shut, space-saving
Rated in detail

Rating in detail

Build quality
7.3
Performance
7.6
Handling
8.2
Value for money
8.6

Pros

  • ✓According to the manufacturer, up to four sandwiches at once
  • ✓Opens flat to 180 degrees as an open cooking surface for meat and vegetables
  • ✓Digital display for time and temperature (according to the product photo) makes a setting repeatable
  • ✓Folds shut, according to the manufacturer it stores easily in a cupboard

Cons

  • ✗No wattage, no temperature range and no plate size in the catalogue, so its performance cannot be compared with other contact grills
  • ✗No manufacturer website and no instruction manual to be found, so care and safety instructions are missing in their original wording
  • ✗It is not documented whether the plates are removable or whether a drip tray is included
  • ✗No sensor automation: you judge the doneness of meat yourself, most reliably with a thermometer
Compared

Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL compared

Olvy Sandwichmaker XXLOlvy Sandwichmaker XXLLandmann Elektro-Grillwagen EG-II-590Landmann Elektro-Grillwagen EG-II-590Weber Pulse 2000Weber Pulse 2000
Overall score7.8/109.4/109.2/10
Priceapprox. €59.99approx. €550.00approx. €578.00
Build quality7.39.39.6
Performance7.69.49.0
Handling8.29.09.4
Value for money8.69.08.2
TypeContact grillStand grillTabletop grill
This modelView →View →
Our verdict

Verdict

At approx. €60, the Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL is a choice for anyone who, besides classic sandwiches, also wants to cook meat or vegetables on the open surface. With room for four sandwiches at once according to the manufacturer, it is designed for families and shared flats according to the catalogue description, although wattage and plate size remain open. If you only occasionally make a single sandwich, compact single-person models offer a more space-saving alternative.

To the offer at Amazon →

Last checked: 20 October 2026· Editorial assessment following our rating methodology · Diese Bewertung auf Deutsch lesen

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL

Short, clear answers about buying, using and caring for Olvy Sandwichmaker XXL.

Can I use the Olvy Sandwich Maker XXL on a balcony or in the garden?

Only indoor use is documented, and we found no approval for outdoor use anywhere. The catalogue also gives no ingress protection rating against splashing water. As a general rule for electrical appliances outdoors: use only a socket with a residual current device, never in rain, and keep the cable and any extension lead dry. For an appliance without instructions, we would stick to how Olvy describes it and use it in the kitchen.

How many watts does the Olvy have, and is my kitchen socket enough?

The Amazon catalogue gives no wattage, so the question cannot be answered with a figure for the Olvy. For context: the catalogue lists 1500 W for the Aigostar Hett Pro, and Tefal states 2000 W for the OptiGrill XL GC722D. A standard 16 A circuit can in theory carry 3680 W. If a kettle is running on the same circuit at the same time, the fuse can trip with a contact grill of this class.

Does the Olvy have preset programmes for toast, meat or fish?

Programmes are not documented; the catalogue text only mentions adjustable heat and a timer. On the product photo, plus and minus buttons sit to the left of the display, and an on/off button and a button marked M sit to the right. No source we found explains what the M button is for, whether it switches modes or toggles between time and temperature.

Are the plates removable and dishwasher safe?

This is open; the catalogue only describes heating plates that you wipe clean. The photo shows no release buttons on the plates, but that proves nothing. If the dishwasher matters to you: Tefal's catalogue explicitly states removable, dishwasher-safe grill plates and an equally dishwasher-safe drip tray for the 3in1 GC3060. In the comparison, that is the clearest reason to choose the Tefal.

Is the Olvy's coating PFAS-free?

There is no information on this; the catalogue only mentions coated heating plates, without giving the material or composition. Whether it is a PTFE or a ceramic coating therefore remains open. If you specifically want to buy PFAS-free, the Aigostar Hett Pro in the comparison has a concrete manufacturer statement: Aigostar describes Eco-Stone plates and calls the appliance 100 per cent PFAS-free and BPA-free.

How much space does the Olvy need in the kitchen cupboard?

Plan for a shelf of roughly 38.5 by 37.5 centimetres, if the three catalogue dimensions describe the appliance when closed. For comparison, the Amazon catalogue gives 38.3 x 21 x 38.8 cm for the Tefal 3in1 GC3060. The footprint is almost the same for both, but the third dimension of the Olvy, at approx. 15 cm, is clearly slimmer. The cable is not included in this, and we do not know its length.

What warranty does Olvy give, and who do I contact if it is faulty?

We found no warranty terms, only a brief line in the Amazon record without conditions. The address olvy.com is for sale, and olvy.de did not connect during our research, so there is no customer service with contact details there. Your first point of contact is therefore the seller. As a general rule, in Germany the statutory warranty of two years applies against the retailer, regardless of any manufacturer guarantee.

Is an OptiGrill the better choice for steak and chicken?

If you mainly grill meat indoors, yes, in our assessment. According to Tefal, the OptiGrill XL GC722D measures the thickness of the food and regulates the temperature across nine programmes, and there is a dedicated button for frozen food that you press before choosing a programme. Tefal also states that you should preheat again before each new batch. With the Olvy, you decide time and heat yourself.